Sign In | My Account | My Books

Greenaway Medal

The Kate Greenaway Medal is a British award that was established in 1955 for distinguished illustration in a book for children.

The medal is named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her fine children’s illustrations and designs.

No Award was given in 1955 or 1958. That is because no book was considered suitable.

Learn more: official Greenaway Medal homepage.


Tim All Alone (1956)

Tim arrives home from his vacation and finds his parents gone and the house closed up. He sets out to scour the world for them.

Read online at

Author(s): Edward Ardizzone
Illustrator(s): Edward Ardizzone

Details »

Mrs Easter and the Storks (1957)

Author(s): V. H. Drummond
Illustrator(s): V. H. Drummond

A Bundle of Ballads (1959)

Author(s): Ruth Manning-Sanders
Illustrator(s): William Stobbs

Kashtanka (1959)

Author(s): Anton Chekhov
Illustrator(s): William Stobbs

Old Winkle and the Seagulls (1960)

Author(s): Elizabeth Rose
Illustrator(s): Gerald Rose

Mrs. Cockle’s Cat (1961)

A London balloon seller is taken on an amazing adventure when she goes to find her cat who has gone in search of fish.

Author(s): Philippa Pearce
Illustrator(s): Antony Maitland

Details »

Brian Wildsmith’s ABC (1962)

Author(s): Brian Wildsmith
Illustrator(s): Brian Wildsmith

Borka: The Adventures of a Goose with No Feathers (1963)

Author(s): John Burningham
Illustrator(s): John Burningham

Shakespeare’s Theatre (1964)

Author(s): C. Walter Hodges
Illustrator(s): C. Walter Hodges

The Three Poor Tailors (1965)

Author(s): Victor Ambrus
Illustrator(s): Victor Ambrus

The Mother Goose Treasury (1966)

Author(s): Raymond Briggs
Illustrator(s): Raymond Briggs

Charley, Charlotte and the Golden Canary (1967)

Author(s): Charles Keeping
Illustrator(s): Charles Keeping

A Dictionary of Chivalry (1968)

A remarkable compendium of information on chivalry, this is Pauline Baynes’ magnum opus.

Read online at

Author(s): Grant Uden
Illustrator(s): Pauline Baynes

Details »

The Dragon of an Ordinary Family (1969)

Author(s): Margaret Mahy
Illustrator(s): Helen Oxenbury

The Quangle Wangle’s Hat (1969)

The Quangle Wangle lives in the top of the Crumpetty tree.

Author(s): Edward Lear
Illustrator(s): Helen Oxenbury

Details »

Mr. Gumpy’s Outing (1970)

Author(s): John Burningham
Illustrator(s): John Burningham

The Kingdom Under the Sea and other stories (1971)

Author(s): Joan Aiken
Illustrator(s): Jan Pieńkowski

The Woodcutter’s Duck (1972)

Author(s): Krystyna Turska
Illustrator(s): Krystyna Turska

Father Christmas (1973)

Author(s): Raymond Briggs
Illustrator(s): Raymond Briggs

The Wind Blew (1974)

Author(s): Pat Hutchins
Illustrator(s): Pat Hutchins